22 Lost Songs

haulin netWhen Livingston Taylor was applauded back for an encore at the Thalian Hall show, people called out for tunes like “Bicycle.”

“Great suggestion,” replied Taylor. “But it ain’t gonna happen. I don’t remember that one anymore.”

Later while he was signing CD’s, an old high school classmate of his produced their yearbook for him to sign. He was moved by this and shared that his had long since been lost in various moves about the country.

I got to thinking. Hadn’t I written 22 songs and a bunch of poetry as a younger gun? What ever became of that creative output?

Rummaging through some old papers, I found a ragged songlist that contained the titles to some of my lost “classics” like

  • One-man Band
  • Dreams of Mexico
  • Snow Caricatures
  • Southern Baby
  • Timberlands.

I wouldn’t even know where to begin with the chords, melodies or lyrics for those songs now.

I put this in perspective with writing today in the blogosphere. I have been writing, mostly on education, for three years. Though I do not remember every entry, every entry was significant to me at a point in time. And running through the years, I see a definite evolution in style, voice, discipline, substance and worldview.

My blog writing stands as part of my permanent record, my chronicle, my corporate history. Unlike the tattered pages of writing from my younger days, my blog entries are searchable by topics, categories, and months. I can include pictures and hyperlinks. I can change my presentation format if I so desire. There is even a comment feature to enhance interactivity.

Most of all, though, my writings have RSS feeds. I can track readership and analyze statistics in a variety of formats. My own RSS subscriptions have given me access to a variety of global commentators, most of whom I would have never known existed, who update their blogs on a routine basis.

Somehow, I find myself embedded in a community of practicing writers.

The implications for student writing here is limitless and unparalleled. Are schools, especially middle and high schools, moving with this evolution in literacy? Is a critical mass even engaging in conversations about it?

Now about my 22 lost “hits” from the 70’s and 80’s. If anybody has found them, especially if they have gone solid gold, please send them back.

In the meantime, here are the iterations of Haulin’ ‘Net which I hope never to lose . . .

  1. Haulin’ ‘Net 2005 (a Class Blogmeister production)
  2. Haulin’ ‘Net 2006 (WordPress housed on our Linux box)
  3. Haulin’ ‘Net (current format at wordpress.com)
Leave a Reply

